Shelter

Shelter

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:
In the tradition of "Affliction" and "The House of Sand and Fog," this is a masterfully crafted debut novel that asks what it means to provide for one's family. When an act of violence leaves Kyung Cho's parents, Jin and Mae, unable to live on their own, the dynamic suddenly changes, and he decides to take them in. As the safe distance between them collapses, Kyung is forced to question what it means to be a good husband, father, and son, while the life he knew begins to crumble and his own anger demands to be released.
Publisher: New York : Picador, ©2016.
ISBN: 9781250075611
Characteristics: 328 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

w
writermala
Aug 10, 2017

In "Shelter" Jung Yun tells us what goes on behind closed doors in the Cho family. Kyung Cho struggles to maintain his wife Gillian and young son Ethan. Just miles away his parents live in luxury with money to spare. Yet, Kyung does not want to approach them for help nor do they offer. In explaining this dynamic Jung Yun tells us the story of Kyung's childhood tortured by abuse.
One act of abuse puts all the members of the Cho family under one roof. Kyung is not able to take it and the consequences are disastrous. A powerful debut novel.

b
bookie66
Feb 09, 2017

I agree with jersey_girl. what is good about this story ? I'm at page 78 and ALL the characters are dysfunctional. Bad things happen to everyone.....The elderly father and mother. The house cleaner. It's like shock makes for good reading. Not when that is all
there is. I have no praise for this sad little book. I'm closing and taking back to the library. Have better things to do with my time than read about misery, people who have no good relationships with each other, and ugliness and violence. Very disappointed in the reviewers on the book jacket.......

JCLMELODYK Oct 21, 2016

Family dysfunction, family secrets and a horrific and violent ordeal that brings everything to the surface. How do you care for your abuser after they've been abused?

Heavy read.

j
Jersey_Girl
Aug 24, 2016

I honestly have no idea why I even finished this book. It is a real downer. It reminded me of John Steinbeck's "The Grapes of Wrath" (not as well written though) A family is having problems because they have lived their dreams without taking into account their income. Oooops. Now they think they might have to move in with the husband's Mom and Dad. There have been some VERY BAD problems in the husband's family in the past. A really dysfunctional family. The book starts with a really startling violent episode and the rest of the book tells what happens to both families after this. Unlike the Joad family in "The Grapes of Wrath", I could care less about these two families. The Joads did nothing to bring on their misfortunes, but both of the Cho families, both the older and the younger brought their troubles on by them selves. Especially the young husband, Kyung. Kyung Cho is a whining, stand there and do nothing idiot. Who doesn't want to take responsibility for anything so he can't be blamed for anything. I don't recommend this family

AL_PAMELAH Aug 16, 2016

The playing out of family secrets and what happens when one's family provides no "shelter". A well done debut novel.

a
aussie2
Aug 14, 2016

Very good.
Enjoyed it immensely .
Ending was a page turner with all the characters, very thought out.
Author brings forward also cultural differences that immigrants face every day and how hard it is to adjust to your new home.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
Library owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top