Dear Mrs. Bird

Dear Mrs. Bird

A Novel

Large Print - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
31
2
"London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles"--
Publisher: Farmington Hills, Michigan : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Company, ©2018.
Edition: Large print edition.
ISBN: 9781432853297
Characteristics: 465 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit f... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
l
lledomik
Jul 08, 2019

I'm not exactly sure what this book was supposed to be about. The story begins with a problem with a challenging boss but then there is no significant development in this area. Then I thought it was going to turn into a romance but then that plot goes nowhere. Suddenly at the end it is about friendship but the climax is built on such a weak foundation that it seems forced. It was supposed to be funny but I did not encounter one comedic episode during my slog through the pages. I'm so confused.

SCL_Heather Jul 03, 2019

For fans of WWII fiction this is a delightful story of a young woman coming of age, trying to do her bit to help the war, and maybe find a little romance. While the realities of war of present this is, for the most part, a happy and cozily written story.

mazinwhistler Jun 11, 2019

An easy read about an young woman, 'Emmy', in London during WW2. What I really enjoyed about this book is how it highlights that despite the war, the bombing blitzes and ultimately very grim times life does go on. Love, family, friendships win no matter what!

p
panchodog
Jun 04, 2019

A light and delightful read about a spunky heroine on the homefront in wartime London. It's not a weighty tome and may seem a bit fluffy, but I enjoyed it for a light read.

s
superreader64
May 23, 2019

Boring! Not enough conflict for me. I didn't think there was anything funny about the plot.
Very disappointed. The theme is about friendship. It's interesting to read what other people think about the book. Some really liked it and others didn't.

e
EonHammit
May 19, 2019

Ugh. Stupid protagonists. Boring.

m
MyTake
May 16, 2019

I enjoyed this book. It's mostly light-hearted, often funny, and sometimes has a jolt of wartime concerns. While I found parts of the end a bit contrived, it's still worth a read overall. You won't soon forget the main character!

m
MB_kcls
Apr 11, 2019

'Dear Mrs. Bird' is a tender yet fun story taking place in a gentler time under the worst of circumstances, World War II and Nazi Germany hitting England.

It's a story of friendship, hardship, pain, courage and just 'carrying on' in the face of it all.

If only our modern world were as kind, polite and tender under far less trying circumstances as bombs dropping nightly. We have much to re-learn.

4.5 stars. I absolutely loved the Author's Note on how this charming novel came to be.

Katherine_A Mar 01, 2019

Dear Mrs. Bird is an interesting take on the life of two young women, Emmeline and Bunty, set in London during WW II. Filled with both humor and grim moments when the reality of war emerges. Overall its great read with an interesting plot. I enjoyed the writing style and both Emmeline and Bunty are solid characters in the story. I hope the author continues to write more books!

a
andreareads
Feb 12, 2019

The balance between the lighter, comedic parts and the serious, life-and-death parts didn't quite work for me, but I appreciated additional insight into what that side of my family went through during the Blitz.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
andreareads
Feb 12, 2019

For anyone else I would have described it as lurking, but somehow Mr. Collins could pull off standing around in what should be a suspicious manner. He had a journalist’s ability to make himself unnoticeable.

a
andreareads
Feb 12, 2019

After a big raid it was always sad to see flattened buildings and burnt-out churches which had stood for hundreds of years, but there was something rather triumphant about the monuments and statues, even the parks and big department stores that were still there, getting on with things. The Luftwaffe may have been trying to blast us to pieces, but everyone just kept getting back up. And when you saw that they hadn’t even managed to dent Big Ben and we’d stopped them from burning down St. Paul’s, it did put a smile back on your face.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top