Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing

Large Print - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
177
4
4
 …
#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book I didn't want this story to end "--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."-- The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."-- Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Publisher: New York : Random House Large Print, ©2018.
Edition: Large print edition.
ISBN: 9781984827616
Characteristics: 484 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
k
karebear111
Feb 16, 2020

Oh my gosh!! This book! I could not put it down and by the end had tears pouring down my cheeks. I did not want it to end. Thank you Delia Owens!

This book grabbed me right from the get go. It is about a ten year old girl who lives in the marsh land outside a small North Carolina town. She has been abandoned by her mother, brothers and sisters and abusive father. She learns to fend for herself and stays living in the shack she was born in. The story goes on about the few relationships she develops and how she is shunned by the towns people, being called "the marsh girl". Then a murder occurs and her world is turned upside down. I recommend this book!! I really enjoyed it and looked forward to when I could get back to it.

e
easygoer1989
Feb 16, 2020

I wanted to like this one (I really did) but am completely bored with it so back to the library it goes. I got to about page 50. Maybe for a beach read but nothing more.

h
hikerhi
Feb 15, 2020

An exquisite read, near perfection. Full of emotions, good and bad, and of birds and other parts of nature. I was transported to the coastline of North Carolina and didn’t want to read. A story of resilience, of learning from nature, of love, and a good mystery to boot.

KarenTherese Feb 13, 2020

Stunning, magical and just wonderful. The type of book that does not come around often and marks the heart for life...

d
Dee_BPL
Feb 12, 2020

After taking this home a few times I finally took the plunge and read it over two nights as I could not put it down. Within just a few chapters you'll admire Kya's resilience and root for her to overcome her circumstances! Highly recommend for ages 13+

b
BONNIE S SAUNDERS
Feb 09, 2020

This is as good as everyone says. It has been on the bestseller list for years. It is the author's first novel and she is over 60. A mystery, a love story, a unique look at a coastline ecosystem, and a lesson in acceptance and tolerance. I couldn't stop reading it.

n
NedSu
Feb 07, 2020

I will add a short review because this book has so many reviews. I usually avoid best sellers, but this book has been on the lists for so long, I thought I'd give it a try. It was not a powerful read, the plot was diluted, and some of the writing was a little contrived. But I enjoyed the book. Although this is partially about abandonment, I found it to be a tribute to the power of reading. That's why I read, and that's why I admire this effort. It transported me to the marshlands of North Carolina.

r
reinelune
Feb 03, 2020

Charming read, didn't want to put down.

d
DavidSpencer99
Jan 30, 2020

This debut novel reads like a mash-up of Educated and Wuthering Heights. To blend the stories, the author provides a made-for-movies murder trial as the tantalizing secondary plot to pull us through to the end. Crawdads indicts developers who ruin the natural environment in the name of progress and condemns short-sighted townsfolk who can’t transcend their narrow prejudices. It elevates the pure souls who find each other in the end. But, for me, fidelity is the book’s universal theme: Kaya’s loyalty to a family that leaves her, a first boyfriend who spends his life making up for infidelity, Chase paying with his life for jilting her, Jumpin’ and Mable for their unwavering connection. Its characters tend toward stereotypes, the plot is melodrama, and the murder plot outcome is disappointingly contrived, with no plausible explanation of how it could be so and how the authorities missed it. Still, it’s a good read, weighty enough to be meaningful but light enough to be quick and entertaining.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
e
ellysaurus
Feb 04, 2020

ellysaurus thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

t
t3485tank
Oct 31, 2019

t3485tank thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

a
AliceInWonderbread
Sep 19, 2019

AliceInWonderbread thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

n
nherrera61
Aug 07, 2019

nherrera61 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
amahof7
Jan 30, 2020

Tate’s father told him many times, “The definition of a real man is one who cries with shame, reads poetry with his heart, feels opera in his soul and does what’s necessary to defend a woman.”
Mabel to Kya:”Ya need some girlfriends hon, cause they’re forever. Without a vow, a clutch of women is the most tender, most tough place on earth”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“She knew the years of isolation had altered her behavior until she was different from others, but it wasn't her fault she'd been alone. Most of what she knew, she'd learned from the wild. Nature had nurtured, tutored, and protected her when no one else would.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“I wasn't aware that words could hold so much. I didn't know a sentence could be so full.”

c
cknightkc
Jun 24, 2019

“Sometimes she heard night-sounds she didn’t know or jumped from lightning too close, but whenever she stumbled, it was the land who caught her. Until at last, at some unclaimed moment, the heart-pain seeped away like water into sand. Still there, but deep. Kya laid her hand upon the breathing, wet earth, and the marsh became her mother.”

Summary

Add a Summary
j
janiedobbs
Dec 30, 2019

The novel’s main narrative opens in the marshland near the fictional town of Barkley Cove, North Carolina. Seven-year-old Catherine “Kya” Clark lives in a shack in the swamp with her mother, father, and siblings. However, one day, Kya’s mother leaves the shack forever in order to escape the physical abuse inflicted by Kya’s father. Kya’s siblings soon leave on their own as well, leaving only Kya and Pa. Pa spends increasingly more time away from the shack over the years, and when Kya is about ten years old, Pa leaves forever. Kya has become thoroughly self-sufficient by this time, living on the land and occasionally trading in town for necessary supplies.

When Kya is 14 years old, a kind local boy named Tate Walker begins to visit Kya, and he teaches her how to read. He is about four years older than Kya. He also gives Kya his old textbooks from school. When Kya is 15 years old, she and Tate fall in love, but Tate insists that they do not have sex until Kya is older. Tate soon leaves for college, and although he promises to love and remember Kya, Kya feels abandoned. When Kya is 19 years old, she suddenly becomes attracted to a young local man named Chase Andrews. Chase begins visiting her often. Chase says that he loves her and is eager to have sex with her. Kya refuses at first, but after about a year, she consents to sex.

Tate eventually returns to Barkley Cove in order to perform scientific research on the marshland. He visits Kya and asks for forgiveness, but she refuses to take him back. Tate sees that Kya has performed much of her own research on the marshland, and he urges Kya to submit it to publishers. Tate also warns Kya that Chase is a dishonest womanizer. One day, Kya sees in the newspaper that Chase has become engaged to someone else. She is heartbroken. Later, she submits her research to publishers, and when she is 22 years old, a book of her research is published under her name. Kya’s brother Jodie sees the book in a store and returns to the swamp to reconnect with Kya. Jodie encourages Kya to give Tate another chance.

Chase eventually visits Kya and says that he wants to continue his relationship with her, despite the fact that he is married to someone else. When Kya refuses him, Chase tries to rape her. She hits him and escapes. Kya realizes that because Chase is such a popular member of the town, and because she is an outcast for living in the swamp, she has no recourse. One day, in October of 1969, Chase’s body is found near the swamp. He appears to have fallen—or possibly have been pushed—out of a fire watchtower. The sheriff investigates and arrests Kya. However, the evidence is inconclusive and circumstantial, and Kya is acquitted. She and Tate declare their love for each other, and they live together in the swamp. Kya continues her career as a naturalist, and Tate continues his career as a researcher. Kya dies at age 64, after which Tate finds evidence that seems to prove that Kya killed Chase. He disposes of the evidence so that no one will ever find it.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top